Whose Am I?

February 9, 2011 § Leave a comment

We live in an era during which maturity is associated with independence.  The more I can be my own authority, the better off I will be in life.  The less I need others, the more I can sustain myself in competition with them.  Therefore, the huge emphasis in our culture on self-development as a means to become a better person.  However, the question of who am I?” is not nearly as fundamental and important in the Bible as is the question whose am I?” When Jesus was confronted by the Pharisees to validate his testimony (John 8:12-30), He answered them by referring to his Father as his witness (8:18).  Given the Law, the Pharisees knew you cannot be your own authority and “that the testimony of two men is valid” (8:17).  Jesus used their knowledge about the Law to explain His interrelationship with the Father (8:19), even though He knew they would not understand what He is talking about (8:27).  For Jesus, to understand who He is, you have to understand who He belongs to:  “The one who sent me is with me; he has not left me alone, for I always do what pleases him” (8:29).  What matters today is not who you are, but whose you are.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Whose Am I? at gladly listening....

meta

