God’s One-Step-At-A-Time Guidance

February 7, 2011 § 1 Comment

Is God following us on our life journey or are we following the movement of God as He shows the way?  Psalm 119:105-112 describe both the temptation of constantly taking my life in my own hands (119:109) and the guidance of God’s word as a lamp to my feet and a light for my path (119:105).  Taking my life in my own hands happens frequently when I attempt to craft out the path of my life with the tools of my own agendas and ambitions or when I attempt to control the future curves of this path as a means of dealing with my own anxieties and concerns.  Carrying the lamp of God’s word with me indicates a willingness to follow God’s direction for me and trusting God with the future contours of my life journey wherever the light takes me.  Someone once described it as follows:  “One who carries a lantern on a country-road at night, sees only one step before him. If he takes that step, he carries his lantern forward, and thus makes another step plain. At length he reaches his destination in safety, without once stepping into darkness. The whole way has been made light for him, though only a single step of it at a time. This illustrates the usual method of God’s guidance.”

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to God’s One-Step-At-A-Time Guidance

  • John Ogren says:

    Jannie, N. and I are reading the Gospel of Matthew in preparation for his baptism Easter weekend. After reading about Jesus’ temptations in ch. 4, we talked about some of our temptations. He gets irritated with students who waste class time or get the class in trouble with misbehavior (smile). I tend to want to get God on board with my agendas and desires, so this was a timely word for me! I liked the image of walking by lamplight. As I paused to indwell the image for a moment, I had the notion of dawn appearing. We need the lamp of God’s word for the next step; at the same time, the light for the whole journey is the hope of resurrection and the day when God makes all things new.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading God’s One-Step-At-A-Time Guidance at gladly listening....

meta

