Patiently Waiting on the Lord

January 15, 2011 § 1 Comment

When the writer of Psalm 40 was in a “slimy pit” (40:2), he did not quietly resign to his fate.  He was fully confident that God would come to the rescue by “waiting patiently for the Lord” (40:1).  The Hebrew word translated with “patiently waiting” is not so passive as the word “patiently” might suggest.  “Patiently” reflects more the idea of “hopeful anticipation” or even “anxious waiting.”  Therefore, someone suggested that it should read “actively, anxiously awaiting, with every fiber of the being” for the Lord.  The rest of the Psalm makes it clear that God does not lift us out of the deep holes of life because of our pious acts (40:6), but because we put our trust in Him.  “Blessed is the man who makes the Lord his trust” (40:4).  The word “trust” derived from a Hebrew word that means “to feel secure, be unconcerned, to totally rely on another.” When we put our trust in God, it does not mean that we are immune to the traumas of life.  It does mean, however, that our trust in God enables us to see beyond the traumas to a new vision of a faithful God that will rescue and do new things again.  That is what “put a new song in my mouth” (40:3).  Are you in a situation right now where you have to learn how to trust God by patiently waiting on Him?

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Patiently Waiting on the Lord

  • Mike & Rosie says:

    For the first time in my life I have more “uncommitted” time than ever before. With my whole heart and soul I am open to doing what God has planned all along for me. He has prepared the road way in advance (in spite of a few detours I took)and I am actively, anxiously, awaiting a map and street signs for direction! If only it were that easy. I do have a map (the bible) but very much like this area, the journey lacks street signs so even though I know where I’m going, I’m not sure where to turn. I can only trust that I will be nudged at the intersections.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Patiently Waiting on the Lord at gladly listening....

meta

