I know… therefore I will see

November 5, 2010 § Leave a comment

When the going gets tough, the not-so-tough gain their toughness through knowing and seeing.  In Job 19:23-27, knowing leads to seeing.  Job says, “I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand upon the earth” (19:25).  Job’s knowledge is knowledge in faith despite evidence to the contrary in his desperate situation.  But it is also knowledge in faith that points to a seeing in faith.  Because he knows that God is alive and in control, he can also proclaim that “I will see God; I myself will see him with my own eyes” (19:26-27).  It is the realness of God’s presence – of knowing for sure that He lives in a way that it is as if I can see Him with my own eyes – that gives strength and brings toughness in difficult circumstances.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I know… therefore I will see at gladly listening....

meta

