Listen to my cry

November 4, 2010 § Leave a comment

For Christians, toughness often takes on shapes and forms that are seemingly the opposite.  Especially when we claim that we find our strength in God’s power alone, and that therefore, what is required of us are posters of apparent weakness in ourselves.  This should not be a surprise, because Jesus set the example of this in the most ultimate way.  When everyone close to Jesus expected him to exercise power in ways that concur with the power norms of the world, Jesus went dying on a cross.  In the weakness on the cross, the power of God was illustrated in its most effective sense.  Therefore, when we find ourselves on our knees, acknowledging our vulnerability and our inability to get ourselves out of difficult situations, the power of God takes over.  Psalm 17:1-9 is a good example of someone crying out to God to “listen to my cry” and to “give ear to my prayer” (17:1).  This is a person that call on God “for you will answer me” (17:6).  The poet of Psalm 17 put his full trust in God’s ability to lead him out of his difficulty when he asks “Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings from the wicked who assail me, from my mortal enemies who surround me” (17:8-9).  God is listening to us crying out to Him…

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Listen to my cry at gladly listening....

meta

